2019 Alumni Sponsored Poetry Contest

2019 Alumni Poetry Award Contest Winners – by Mark Johnson

Once again, the Saints student body participated in the annual Alumni Poetry Award Contests.  At stake were cash prices for senior, junior, sophomore and freshman class winners of $75 for first place, $50 for second place, and $25 for third place, as well as a certificate acknowledging this significant achievement. Over 150 students, representing all grades, participated in this year’s competition.  A blue ribbon alumni board of judges screened the poems and narrowed the selection down to 10 per class. The group met in Vasey hall on 29 April, where a cohort of alumni judges for each class, selected the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners.  The judges were impressed by the outstanding poems written by these students, and after much debate, winners were selected.  This year’s winners are as follows:


  • 1st – Alejandro Eros
  • 2nd – Ari Galindo
  • 3rd – Nainoa da Luz


  • 1st – Nakial Cross
  • 2nd – Charles Lester
  • 3rd – Jason Shang


  • 1st – Dominic Bacino
  • 2nd – Dean Dickow
  • 3rd – Andres Armenta


  • 1st – Vincent Haro
  • 2nd – Ethan Grismer
  • 3rd – Chaz McRoberts